Menu Bottom





Chats with Champions    Chat Schedule

This popular free program    brings outstanding members of the literary world, arts, and sciences to Skidompha to present programs that are free and open to the public. While the series’ emphasis is on top-notch authors, programs often appeal to those interested in the liberal arts in general.     Traditionally,    Chats    are held monthly at 10:00 am, on the first Thursday, but days, times, and even venue, may vary according to the availability of "champions.” Additionally, bonus    Chats    are frequently scheduled when the opportunity to engage additional notables arises.    

Chats    with Champions    regularly partners with the Maine Coast Book Shop to host authors, and with Lincoln Theater when an audience may exceed Skidompha's Porter Meeting Hall capacity.     Audiences continue to grow and fans often travel amazing distances to attend. The widely diverse roster of exceptional programs has included bestselling, prize-winning authors, chefs, mystery writers, scientists, wildlife experts, artists, historians, criminologists, musicians and many more!

Unless otherwise noted, programs begin at 10 AM in the Porter Meeting Hall.    Be sure to arrive early, as finding a parking space can be challenging, especially in warmer weather.

Watch this space and our home page for updates as we receive final confirmations from our presenters. If weather/driving conditions are in question, please call 563.5513 for further information.

 


Chats with Champions is sponsored by
Sherman's Maine Coast Book Shop & Cafe



  


Chats with Champions Schedule  

Upcoming Skidompha Chats with Champions    guest presenters    include:
  
Time Day Date
Guest
  
10
AM
Tues. May 30 Hank Lunn - From Foe to Friend: German Prisoners of War in Maine
10
AM
Tues. June 6 Bruce Coffin -Mystery Writer
10
AM
Wed. June 7 Linda Greenlaw - Author
10
AM
Tues. June 13 Jack Boak: History of Ocean Garbage Dumping Practices and Relevant Regulations
10
AM
Thurs. June 22 Liz Helitzer    Maine Holocaust Center
10
AM
Thurs. July 13 Senator George Mitchell
10
AM
Tues. June 27 Jacques Vesery, Collaboration Artist
NOON Thurs. July 20 Christina Baker Kline - Author of    Orphan Train,    on    her newest book,    A Piece of the World.    
10
AM
Tues. July 25 Heather Leslie: Darling Center
10
AM
Thurs. August 3 Russ Lane
10
AM
Tues. August 8 Norine Dworkin-McDaniel - The Science of Parenthood: Thoroughly Unscientific Explanations for Utterly Baffling Parenting Situations
10
AM
Tues. August 22 Rem Briggs - Appalachian Adventure
10
AM
Tues. August 29 Lynn Olson, author of Last Hope Island
10
AM
Tues. September 5 Doug Preston - The Lost City of the Monkey    God: a True Story
10
AM
Tues. September
26    
A Place at the Table: Film and Panel Discussion
10
AM
Tues. October 17 Winslow Myers, Artist and Author
10
AM
Thurs. November 9 Matthew Edney - History of Maps
         Stay Tuned For More!
  
         Previous Chats with Champions on Video
Watch Chats you missed (or want to see again!) on our exclusive YouTube channel.